LOCAL

Page : «  1    2    3    4    5   6    7    8    9    10   »

Showing 41 through 40 of 5875 articles.

Weighing In: It might be fall, but don't fall into bad health habits

Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:40 pm

By Coshandra Dillard cdillard@tylerpaper.com
It’ll be back to school soon for parents. For some, it’s a return to the “rat race.” Helping with homework, packing lunches and shuffling to afterschool activities can leave parents overwhelmed — and often too overwhelmed to look after themselves.…


City says animal shelter should open by fall 2015

Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:18 am

City says animal shelter should open by fall 2015 By Kelly Gooch kgooch@tylerpaper.com
The city’s proposed animal care facility is expected to be up and functioning in fall 2015, if not sooner, animal care advisory…


Smith County: Man wanted for home burglary

Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:12 am

By Staff Reports
A man released from jail Thursday is wanted in connection with a residential burglary less than six hours later. According to information from the Smith County Sheriff’s Office, detectives are requesting help finding Aaron Bowers, 41, of Tyler, who was…


$25,000 reward offered in bank robbery case

Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:11 am

By Kenneth Dean kdean@tylerpaper.com
Authorities are hoping a $25,000 reward will provide them with the identity of the three people involved in a local bank robbery earlier this week. Tyler police spokesman Don Martin said the $25,000 reward has been offered for the identity,…


Tyler keeps pace with state at 94.5 percent employment

Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:09 am

By Casey Murphy cmurphy@tylerpaper.com
Employment for the Tyler area was 94.5 percent in July, staying on track with the state. Last month’s local employment rate was a slight decline from the 94.6 percent seen here in June, but a jump from 93.3 percent a…


Lighthouse employee honored by National Industries for the Blind

Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:46 pm

Lighthouse employee honored by National Industries for the Blind By Emily Guevara eguevara@tylerpaper.com
Megan Dodd was 18 when she first had vision problems. At that point, she was a freshman in college, studying 12 hours…


VIDEO: $25,000 reward offered for info on Tyler bank robbers

Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:00 pm

BY KENNETH DEAN, kdean@tylerpaper.com Authorities are hoping a $25,000 reward will provide them with the identity of the three people involved in a…


Former prison guard gets 99 years for sexual assault of a child

Fri Aug 15, 2014 4:41 pm

By BY PHILLIP WILLIAMS, Special Correspondent
GILMER--A 115th District Court jury sentenced a former state prison guard to 99 years in prison Friday after convicting him of aggravated sexual assault of a child, said Upshur County District Attorney Billy Byrd. Cory Martin Colvin, 34, of Naples,…


Schaefer wants Texas to go on 'covert' missions inside Mexico

Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:50 pm

Schaefer wants Texas to go on 'covert' missions inside Mexico By Adam Russell, arussell@tylerpaper.com
An East Texas state legislator wants to go on the offensive and carry out “covert” and “overt” military-type operations inside Mexico to…


Smith County Sheriff's Office seeks help locating suspect

Fri Aug 15, 2014 11:16 am

By Kenneth Dean kdean@tylerpaper.com According to information from the Smith County Sheriff’s Office, detectives are requesting help in locating a suspect in a residential burglary. The suspect is identified as Aaron Bowers, 41, of Tyler, who was released from Smith…


Page : «  1    2    3    4    5   6    7    8    9    10   »

AP Video