VIDEOS: Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award 2014 watch list revealed

Published on Wednesday, 20 August 2014 16:59 - Written by BY PHIL HICKS,

Prev  1 of 3  Next

Inaugural winner Bryce Petty, along with Cayuga’s Malcolme Kennedy, is included on the watch list for the second annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

The list was unveiled to grand fanfare on Wednesday during the Ninth Annual East Texas Kick-Off Luncheon at Harvey Convention Center.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals, said Henry Bell, Chief Operating Officer of the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce.

The award honors Campbell, the Tyler native and 1977 Heisman Trophy winner.

Additionally, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.

The 43-man watch list will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists and then to four or five finalists.

The winner does not have to appear on the initial watch list and they will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and former winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet in January.

Last year’s winner Petty, Baylor’s standout quarterback, was not on the first list last year. Other finalists were Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel (now with Cleveland Browns), Texas Tech tight end Jace Amario (New York Jets), Texas A&M wide receiver Mike Evans (Tampa Bay Buccaneers) and Missouri quarterback James Franklin (Detroit Lions).

There are colleges from 22 states on the list.

Campbell is a 1974 graduate of John Tyler High School. In 1973, he was an All-American running back who helped lead the Lions to a 15-0 record and the Class 4A state football championship.

He then joined the Texas Longhorns under legendary coach Darrell K Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1,744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to become the University of Texas’ first Heisman Trophy.

Campbell was subsequently drafted No. 1 overall by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the National Football League in rushing three times. Campbell was a three-time NFL Most Valuable Player and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He also played for the New Orleans Saints. He now resides in Austin.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is presented by SPORTyler, Inc., in conjunction with the city of Tyler, the Tyler Convention & Visitors Bureau and Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce.

Located in downtown Tyler, the nonprofit SPORTyler helps to encourage student-athletes to succeed on and off the field.

The preseason award watch list was selected from nominations submitted by the sports information directors of each Division I school.

Each week during the regular season, an Earl Campbell Tyler Rose National Player of the Week will be selected leading up to the finalists announcement in December.


Jay Ajayi, Boise State, Running Back/Junior

Ross Apo, BYU, Wide Receiver/Senior

Trevone Boykin, TCU, Quarterback/Junior

Michael Brewer, Virginia Tech, Quarterback/Graduate

Malcolm Brown, Texas, Running Back/Senior

Damon Bullock, Iowa, Running Back/Senior

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback/Senior

David Cobb, Minnesota, Running Back/Senior

Noah Copeland, Navy, Fullback/Senior

Devante Davis, UNLV, Wide Receiver/Senior

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa, Wide Receiver/Junior

Antwan Goodley, Baylor, Wide Receiver/Senior

D.D. Goodson, Colorado, Wide Receiver/Senior

Treyvon Green, Northwestern, Running Back/Senior

Deontay Greenberry, Houston, Wide Receiver/Junior

Nick Harwell, Kansas, Wide Receiver/Senior

Rashard Higgins, Colorado, State Wide Receiver/Soph.

Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, Running Back/Senior

Aaron Jones, UTEP, Running Back/Soph.

Kam Jones, UTSA, Wide Receiver/Senior

Darius Joseph, SMU, Wide Receiver/Junior

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback/Senior

Malcome Kennedy, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver/Senior

Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, Quarterback/Sophomore

Shock Linwood, Baylor, Running Back/Sophomore

Logan Lister, Rutgers, Tight End/Freshman

Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver/Senior

Jimmay Mundine, Kansas, Tight End/Graduate

Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback/Senior

Adam Roberts, San Diego State, Fullback/Senior

Larry Rose III, New Mexico State, Running Back/Freshman

Jameill Showers, UTEP, Quarterback/Senior

Zachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End/Senior

Jordan Taylor, Rice, Wide Receiver/Senior

Jordan Thompson, West Virginia, Wide Receiver/Junior

Jamal Turner, Nebraska, Wide Receiver/Senior

Trenton Turrentine, Army, Running Back/Senior

Davis Webb, Texas Tech, Quarterback/Soph.

DeAndrew White, Alabama, Wide Receiver/Senior

Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise State, Wide Receiver/Junior

Trey Williams, Texas A&M, Running Back/Junior

Dontre Wilson, Ohio State, Halfback/Soph.

Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back/Junior