VIDEO: 35 players named to initial watch list for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Published on Wednesday, 21 August 2013 14:14 - Written by

The first Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List was announced today at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon. 

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

Announced today were:

Ross Apo, Brigham Young University, Wide Receiver/Junior;

David Ash, University of Texas, Quarterback/Junior;

Kolton Browning, University of LA/Monroe, Quarterback/Senior;

Damon Bullock, University of Iowa, Running Back/Junior;

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback/Junior;

Kasey Carrier, New Mexico, Running Back/Senior;

Tim Cornett, UNLV, Running Back/Senior;

Cody Davis, Purdue, Offensive Guard/Senior;

Adam Dingwell, San Diego State, Quarterback/Junior;

Cameron Fleming, Stanford; Offensive Tackle/Senior;

James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback/Senior;

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa; Wide Receiver/Junior

Ryan Grant, Tulane University, Wide Receiver/Senior;

Deontay Greenberry, University of Houston, Wide Receiver/Sophomore;

Marion Grice, Arizona State University, Running Back/Senior;

John Hubert, Kansas State, Running Back/Senior;

Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, Running Back/Junior;

Jeremy Johnson, Southern Methodist University, Wide Receiver/Senior;

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback/Junior;

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback/Sophomore;

Venric Mark, Northwestern University, Running Back/Senior;

Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver/Junior;

Casey Pachall, TCU, Quarterback/Senior;

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, Running Back/Junior;

Charles Sims, West Virginia University, Running Back/Graduate;

James Sims, University of Kansas, Halfback/Senior;

Eric Soza, UTSA, Quarterback/Graduate;

Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, Receiver/Junior;

Travis Swanson, University of Arkansas, Center/Senior;

Zachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End/Junior;

Eric Ward, Texas Tech, Wide Receiver/Senior;

James White, Iowa State, Running Back/Senior;

Rodrick Williams, Jr., Minnesota, Running Back/Sophomore;

Connor Wood, Colorado, Quarterback/Junior;

Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back/Sophomore.

The Watch List announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semi finalists in November and then up to 4 finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and (in the future) former winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for January 10, 2014.

“We are fortunate to have a celebrity who exhibits the impeccable virtues that define this award. In addition to being a well known sports figure, Earl also earned a college degree, married his high school sweetheart, raised two successful sons and still supports the community where he grew up,” said Cindy Smoak, Vice President, SPORTyler. 

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns’ first Heisman Trophy. He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing 3 times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin. 

“All my life, all I wanted to do was be an athlete. I kept God in my life and surrounded myself with good people. I am humbled by this award named in my honor,” said Campbell.