Festival Rose Ball goes ‘pink’

Published on Tuesday, 15 October 2013 19:04 - Written by Staff Reports

The Order of the Rose will sponsor the Rose Ball, “In the Pink,” celebrating renowned decorator Dorothy Draper and honoring Queen Rachel Vanderpool Clyde and her court.

The ball will take place Saturday night at Harvey Convention Center.

Ms. Draper was known for her use of vibrant color mixed with black and white along with her elaborate and ornate plaster molding and designs. Harvey Convention Center will be transformed into a dramatic venue with the “Draper Touch" created by design team Jayna and Jim Monroe of Monroe Designs of Dallas.  

Centerpieces will consist of vibrant pink roses and velvety hydrangeas to compliment the large urns of pink roses designed by local florist Raymond Krueger, owner of Jerry's Flowers. The ball will be catered by Rick’s on the Square, and guests will be entertained by Houston-based band Yvonne Washington and The Mix. Cocktail hour before the ball will feature Randall Powell on the baby grand piano.

Additional catering will be handled by Dakota's Catering of Tyler. Photography will be provided by James French of Dallas. Valet parking is offered by Tyler Valet services. Video production will be provided by Shane Payne, IDEA Post- Production.

Order of the Rose officers are Casey Brownlow, president; Kevin Eltife, vice president; and Brian Hancock, treasurer. Ball Chairman is Kelly Eltife.

The Rose Ball Committee members are: Verna Hall, royalty hospitality; Gillian Brasfield, assistant ball chairman; Jan Hancock, catering; Catherine Harrison, choreographer; Margo Adams and Resa Clarke, court presentation; Megan Hernandez, decorations: Stacie Walker, Jill Cobb and Devin Hitt, dressing room coordinators; Betty Anderson, committee hospitality; Tina Pollard, past president’s lineup; Kelly Lansford and Karen Wallace, guest hospitality; Debbie Roosth, program/printing/publicity; Martha Walker, script; Patrick Willis, ushers.

Contributors include R&K Distributors, GG Distributing, LLC, Bryan Houston and Autry Design.