Style show honors 2013 queen, duchess and ladies-in-waiting

Published on Wednesday, 17 July 2013 23:33 - Written by From Staff Reports

Prev  1 of 6  Next

The Friends of the Rose held its style show Wednesday to honor the 2013 Texas Rose Festival’s Duchess of the Rose Growers Taylor Brooke Carroll and Rose Queen Rachel Vanderpool Clyde.

The event also honored the ladies-in-waiting.

The Raindrops on Roses and Other Favorite Things luncheon and style show was held at the Willow Brook Country Club.

The style show featured fashions by Sharon Young Boutique, of Tyler.

Tables were decorated in keeping with the year’s theme of “Joie de Vivre: A Parisian Picnic.”

Following a prayer by Mary Cagle, Sharon Young Boutique entertained gu­ests with an informal style show. Janie Stewart provided piano music, while Sylvia Jones and Cindy Gaddis presented gifts to honorees on behalf of Friends of the Rose.

Hanna Greenberg and Blakely Braughton presented a gift to the Duchess of the Rose Growers on behalf of the Tyler Court.

A Texas Rose Research Foundation Inc. auxiliary, the Friends of the Rose holds the lunch to herald the start of the summer rehearsal season for Queen’s Court members. Festival participants spend the week practicing in preparation for the Texas Rose Festival in October.

Friends of the Rose sponsors are Chamblee’s Rose Nursery, Hand Rose Farms, Hand Wholesale Nurseries, Jernigan Lone Star Realty, La Tee Da Flowers, Lone Star Rose Nursery Inc., Mea Nursery, Nix Roses, Ran-Pro Farms, Regions Bank, Rose Country Tractor, Roses USA and Tate Rose Nursery.

Individual members include former festival participants, friends and family of those in the rose industry and rose enthusiasts. For more information, call 903-618-9036.

Members of the Tyler Court are:

Miss Catherine Elizabeth Anderson, daughter of Ms. Mary Holland Zorn; Miss Blakely Elizabeth Bra­ughton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Kevin S. Braughton; Miss Caroline Blanche Brookshire, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Britton Parker Bro­okshire; and Miss Catherine Ruth Butschi, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brett Alan Stratton and Mr. Brian Scott Butschi.

Miss Courtney Carr Davis, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Scott Davis; Miss Elise Helene Gerard, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Roy Dupuy Gerard Jr.; Miss Hannah Blythe Greenberg, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sam Greenberg; and Miss Hannah Elizabeth Hightower, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jack Russell Hightower.

Miss Rachel LaRae Johnston, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Alan Ray Johnston; Miss Alex Lipscomb, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Larry W. Lipscomb; Miss Kerrill Lauren Mueller, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dana Mueller; Miss Kathryn Ann Nelson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brett Eric Nelson; and Miss Hanna Renea Riley, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Wilson Riley and Mr. and Mrs. Keith Wayne Wright.

Miss Regan Brooke Smith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Glen Smith; Miss Taylor Dawn Tillson, daughter of Ms. Rebecca Ann Snider Tillson and Mr. Lee Tolbert Tillson; and Taylor Brooke Carroll, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tim Carroll.