Students, publications, collect honors at state level

Published on Monday, 21 April 2014 23:20 - Written by Staff Reports

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association recognized the work of many students at The University of Texas at Tyler, Tyler Junior College and Kilgore College during the organization’s recent conference in San Antonio.

The association includes public and private community colleges and four-year universities in Texas that offer journalism courses or have or plan to have student publications, according to a TJC news release.

The association presented awards for previously published work, along with work produced during on-site competitions. Almost 50 schools and 500 delegates attended the event.

UT Tyler’s Patriot Talon won a record 39 awards, according to a university news release.

Some of the awards included the Patriot Talon staff winning third place for Overall Excellence and the Patriot Talon winning first place for Division II Best in Show, according to a university news release.

The Patriot Pulse Magazine received honorable mention for overall excellence and Patriot Talon Editor-in-Chief Morgan Jones, of Chandler, received the Frank Buckley Scholarship for her staff performance.

The Talon staff also received second place in Division 2 for Best Interactivity Online.

“The number of awards surprised me at the end of the day, not because of the quality of my students, but because the competition is extremely tough,” Kevin Dilley, the Patriot Talon’s faculty adviser and a UT Tyler Department of Communication lecturer, said, in a news release.

At TJC, communications and media students won First Place for Overall Excellence for Newspaper Division 4, Sweepstakes for Newspaper Division 4 and Sweepstakes for Online Division 2.

In addition, TIPA inducted TJC alumnus and Dallas Morning News columnist Steve Blow into its Hall of Fame, in a college news release.

The TJC students placed in multiple categories such as design and layout, news and sports feature writing, photography and online multimedia packages.

“I am proud of my students who showed that TJC is preparing them with the tools to succeed in an ever-changing news business,” Laura Krantz, chairwoman of TJC’s Communications and Student Media Department, said, according to a college news release. “I am particularly proud of our showing in the online and broadcasting categories where we went head-to-head with some of the largest universities in the state, including private schools.”

Kilgore College’s student newspaper, The Flare, continued its tradition of excellence by winning the sweepstakes for garnering the most points in its division. This is the 24th time in 28 years the newspaper has won this award, according to a college news release.

The weekly newspaper won first place in several categories: overall excellence, headline writing, photo illustration, sports page design, news feature story, special section, news photo, opinion/editorial page design, information graphic and feature page design.

“I am very proud of our staff for these awards, but more importantly for their hard work and dedication in helping make The Flare as good a newspaper as possible,” adviser Gary Borders said, according to the news release.

In all, The Flare received 26 awards. In addition, Sonia Garza, a sophomore from Tatum, was named Division 2 Photojournalist of the Year.

This is the third consecutive year a Kilgore College photography student won this award.

The Ranger yearbook also won several awards, including honorable mention in overall excellence in a division competing against several Texas universities, according to the news release.

The Ranger won 17 awards, including first place for academic photo and sports feature photo. Borders and O. Rufus Lovett serve as co-advisers of the yearbook.

The Flare magazine also received four awards including honorable mention for overall excellence.

Visit to see a complete list of awards for each school.