‘Sweet 16’ players named to semifinal list

Published on Monday, 18 November 2013 23:23 - Written by PHIL HICKS phicks@tylerpaper.com

With numerous talented football players with ties to the state of Texas, whittling a list to 16 semifinalists for the inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was a difficult task.

But after a season of spectacular plays and magical moments the players up for the honor have been trimmed to the “Sweet 16.” The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Selection Committee selected a semifinal list, Cindy Smoak, vice president of SPORT-yler, announced Monday night.

Including in the semifinalists are two Tyler-born players — SMU wide receiver Jeremy Johnson (John Tyler High School graduate) and Texas A&M quarterback and 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel.

The 2013 semi-finalists are:

Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, tight end, junior — San Antonio (MacArthur HS)

Kolton Browning, Louisiana-Monroe, quarterback, senior — Mabank (Mabank HS)

Shane Carden, East Carolina, quarterback, junior — Houston (Episcopal School of Houston)

David Cobb, Minnesota, running back, junior — Killeen (Ellison HS)

Mike Evans, Texas A&M, wide receiver, sophomore — Galveston (Ball HS)

James Franklin, Missouri, quarterback, senior — Corinth (Lake Dallas HS)

Garrett Gilbert, SMU, quarterback, senior — Austin (Lake Travis HS)

Antwan Goodley, Baylor, wide receiver, junior — Midland (Midland HS)

Johnathan Gray, Texas, running back, junior — Aledo (Aledo HS)

Marion Grice, Arizona State, running back, senior — Houston (Aldine Nimitz HS)

Jeremy Johnson, SMU, wide receiver, senior — Tyler (John Tyler HS)

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, quarterback, sophomore — Kerrville (Tivy HS)

Bryce Petty, Baylor, quarterback, junior — Midlothian (Midlothian HS)

Tevin Reese, Baylor, wide receiver, senior — Temple (Temple HS)

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, running back, junior — Temple (Temple HS)

Charles Sims, West Virginia, running back, graduate student — Houston (Westbury HS)

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell, the 1977 Heisman Trophy winner from Tyler and the University of Texas: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

Finalists will be selected from the 16 and announced on Dec. 9, Mrs. Smoak said. She added the winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler on Jan. 10.

Mrs. Smoak also thanked the award sponsors: American State Bank, Citizen’s 1st Bank, Kitchens Unique, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Harold Beaird, R.W. Fair Foundation, Clements Fluids Management, Patterson Commercial Property Group, Chesley and Ted W. Walters, Texas Spine and Joint, Austin Bank, Billy Hibbs, Prothro Wilhelmi & Company, Dr. Paul and Kay Latta.

Fans may vote for their favorite athlete for the honor at either ETFinalScore.com or www.EarlCamp

bellAward.com. Fans may cast one vote per day.

Along with the traits of Campbell, the Pro Football Hall of Famer, the nominees must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college.