United Way recognizes others at Bright Ideas Awards luncheon

Published on Friday, 15 November 2013 23:40 - Written by From Staff Reports

The United Way’s East Texas Center for Nonprofits recognized other nonprofits Friday at their Bright Ideas Awards luncheon.

Last year’s award recipients were Brookshire Grocery Co. and Fourth Partner Foundation. This year, Express Employment Professionals was the recipient of the Corporate Citizen Award and The Rogers Foundation as the recipient of the Founders Award.

“These awards honor groups and individuals for their role in strengthening our nonprofit community and are presented to a group or person who exemplifies the founding principles of the East Texas Center for Nonprofits, which is ‘fostering excellence in nonprofits,’” according to the news release.

In January 2003, The Rogers Foundation began contributing funding for Nonprofit Leadership Education through the center. Their continued financial support during pivotal developmental years for the program helped provide top quality trainers and speakers to work with area nonprofits on critical issues.

“They realized the ripple effect of effective training as it touched nonprofit leaders, their board members, volunteers, and then on out to the hundreds of clients they served,” according to the release.

As a part of the company’s mission, Express Employment Professionals has provided leadership training and development to business and nonprofit organizations and has proven to be a great corporate citizen.

“Rocky Gill, CEO/President, exemplifies the founding principle of the center with a philanthropic focus primarily on civic and community efforts. From supporting volunteerism among its employees to contributions made, Express Employment Professionals is a business leader in promoting the importance of being a great corporate citizen,” according to the release.

Also recognized at the luncheon were the recipients on National Philanthropy Day through the Association of Fundraising Professionals. Those recipients were Outstanding Philanthropist Award winners, Peaches and Louis Owen; Spark Award winner, Ahnis Summers; and a special award presented in Memory of James H. Reynolds.