Van Zandt County joins burn ban list

Published on Tuesday, 10 September 2013 18:30 - Written by Staff and KTYX CBS 19 reports

Van Zandt County joined the list of East Texas prohibiting outside burning because of dry conditions.

Van Zandt commissioners approved a countywide burn ban Tuesday, according to a news release.

The ban affects the unincorporated areas of the county unless a city has opted to enact the ban as well.

Anyone in violation of the burn ban can be fined.

The ban will be in effect until further notice, but will be reviewed again by the court Sept. 24.

Counties now under a burn ban are: Anderson, Angelina, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Kaufman, Henderson, Houston, Hopkins, Hunt, Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Trinity, Upshur and Van Zandt.