3 candidates exit race for ESD No. 2 position

Published on Friday, 22 August 2014 22:20 - Written by Adam Russell arussell@tylerpaper.com

Three Emergency Services District No. 2 board candidates have dropped their names from consideration on November ballots.

James “Barry” Barnett, David Doty and Glen Shipley ended their campaigns before candidates’ ballot positions were drawn by the Smith County Election Administrator.

The exits of Barnett and Shipley leave Leroy Biggers as the lone candidate in District 3.

Seven of 10 positions on the two Emergency Service District boards are uncontested.

The five-member boards governing Emergency Services District No. 1 and No. 2 are volunteer positions and were appointed by County Commissioners until a state law created single-member districts to equally represent voters.

Emergency Services District No. 1 includes Lindale Fire Department and collected less than 6 cents per $100 valuation, or $639,000, in 2012.

Emergency Services District No. 2 includes Arp, Bullard, Chapel Hill, Dixie, Flint-Gresham, Jackson Heights, Noonday, Red Springs, Troup, Whitehouse and Winona volunteer fire departments and collected more than $4 million from taxpayers in 2012 based on a property tax rate of 8.46 cents per $100 valuation.

The single district maps were drawn proportionally based on voting-age population.

The two five-member boards would be elected to four-year terms. Members would then draw lots to decide which three members would serve four-year terms and which two would have to run again in two years to keep the terms staggered in the future.

Five candidates — Todd Froebe (District 1), Ron Bunch (District 2), Carolyn Todd (District 3), Kenneth Smith (District 4) and Robin Daugherty (District 5) — filed in ESD No. 1. They will be sworn in to office Jan. 1 because they face no opponents.

In ESD No. 2, Paul Perryman will face Sandra “Sandy” Hayley for District 1; Robert Dear and Randal Melton face each other for District 4 and Theodore “Ted” Gould and Matthew “Matt” Thiessen are running in District 5.

Like Biggers, Charles Wilson did not draw an opponent in ESD No. 2 District 2.