Tyler Sister Cities seeking female teachers

Published on Thursday, 20 March 2014 23:31 - Written by From Staff and Wire Reports

Tyler Sister Cities is seeking female English speaking college graduates to teach in Yachiyo, Japan, for the 2014-15 school year. The program begins at the end of July.

Teachers will be a part of Yachiyo’s Assistant Language Teacher Program.

Graduates don’t need a teaching or English degree or any knowledge of Japanese to qualify, according to a news release from The University of Texas at Tyler. The salary is about $35,000 a year, plus low-cost housing.

The contract technically is for one year only. However, the school district in Yachiyo prefers applicants who are willing to commit to at least two years, according to the news release.

UT Tyler graduates will receive preference, but graduates from other four-year institutions also will be considered.

People who are interested should contact Dr. Stephen Krebbs, UT Tyler senior lecturer and campus Sister Cities Program coordinator, at skrebbs@uttyler.edu or Patricia Johns, Tyler Sister Cities president, at 903-561-0128 by April 4. Krebbs and Ms. Johns will provide an application at that time.

President Dwight D. Eisenhower founded Sister Cities International in 1956, according to the news release. It is a nonprofit, nonpartisan national membership organization for individual sister cities, counties and states nationwide.

It unites tens of thousands of citizen diplomats and volunteers in programs in 140 countries on six continents, according to the news release.

The organization uses cultural, educational, humanitarian, and economic development exchanges to advance peace and prosperity.

UT Tyler’s involvement with the City of Tyler’s Sister Cities Program dates back to 1983 under the leadership of President Emeritus Dr. George F. Hamm.

Hamm’s commitment to global awareness and understanding played an important role in the Tyler Sister Cities creation, according to the news release.

Other Tyler Sister Cities include Lo Barnechea, Chile; San Miguel de Allende, Mexico; Jelenia Gora, Poland; and Liberia, Costa Rica.